Benoît and the Mandelbrots

About Benoît and the Mandelbrots

English Deutsch Español

Benoît and the Mandelbrots see the laptop as their main instrument; they are mainly dedicated to live coding: the process of writing software in real-time. They use the programming language itself as an at first sight non-intuitive, but simultaneously expressive interface between man and machine in order to improvise sound and music. Sonic conceptions and structures are expressed live as source code, and interpreted by the computer. The laptop musicians are connected over a network, enabling them to communicate, synchronize and share data. With the flexibility of live coding the sounds are generated specifically to fit the room characteristics and the audience of the performance.

As every performance setting is unique and improvisation is the main paradigm of the group they don’t perform ‘works’ in a classic sense, but consider their whole oeuvre and underlying concept as their work, which expands with every performance. The musical results vary from electronica and ambient to experimental, noise, drones and avant-garde depending on the event, audience, venue and course of the collective improvisation.

The ensemble was formed in winter 2009 by students of the IMWI (Institute for Musicology and Music Informatics) at the Karlsruhe University of Music. Since then they have played over 60 concerts in different locations and events, notably at BEAM Festival 2012 in Uxbridge, SuperCollider Symposium 2012 in London, Network Music Festival 2012 in Birmingham, Laptops Meet Musicians Festival 2011 in Venice, next_generation 4.0 at ZKM Karlsruhe and LINKS Biennale für Neue Musik 2010 in Heidelberg. They received an Honorary Mention at Prix Ars Electronica 2012 in the category Digital Musics & Sound Art.

(From left to right)

Matthias Schneiderbanger

Web: matthias-schneiderbanger.de.

Holger Ballweg

Web: uiae.de.

Patrick Borgeat

Web: cappel-nord.de.

Juan A. Romero

Web: rukano.de.

Benoît and the Mandelbrots

Über Benoît and the Mandelbrots

English Deutsch Español

Benoît and the Mandelbrots verstehen den Laptop als ihr Hauptinstrument und widmen sich vor allem dem Live-Coding, dem Programmieren in Echtzeit. Sie nutzen die Programmiersprache als auf den ersten Blick unintuitives, doch gleichzeitig ausdrucksstarkes Interface zwischen Mensch und Maschine um mit ihr Klang und Musik zu improvisieren. Klangliche Konzepte und Strukturen werden hierbei live als Quelltext formuliert und vom Computer interpretiert. Die Laptop-Musiker sind über ein Netzwerk verbunden, welches ihnen ermöglicht sich zu synchronisieren, zu kommunizieren und Daten auszutauschen. Mit der Flexibilität des Live-Codings werden die Klänge passend für die jeweilige Aufführung und das jeweilige Publikum erzeugt.

Da jede Aufführungssituation einzigartig ist und das Improvisieren die grundlegende Arbeitsweise der Gruppe ist, führt die Band keine Werke im klassischen Sinne auf, sondern fasst ihr gesamtes Oeuvre und die zugrundeliegenden Konzepte als ihr Gesamtwerk auf, welches mit jeder Aufführung wächst. Die musikalischen Ergebnisse reichen hierbei von Electronica und Ambient zu Experimental, Noise, Drones and Avantgarde, je nach Anlass, Publikum, Aufführungsort und Ablauf der kollektiven Improvisation.

Das Ensemble wurde im Winter 2009 von Studenten des IMWI (Institut für Musikwissenschaft und Musikinformatik) der Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe gegründet. Seitdem haben sie mehr als 60 Konzerte an verschiedensten Orten und Veranstaltungen gegeben, namentlich auf dem BEAM Festival 2012 in Uxbridge, dem SuperCollider Symposium 2012 in London, dem Network Music Festival 2012 in Birmingham, dem Laptops Meet Musicians Festival 2011 in Venedig, der next_generation 4.0 am ZKM Karlsruhe, dem SuperCollider Symposium 2010 in Berlin und der LINKS Biennale für Neue Musik 2010 in Heidelberg. Beim Prix Ars Electronica 2012 erhielten sie eine Honorary Mention in der Kategorie Digital Musics & Sound Art.

(Von links nach rechts)

Matthias Schneiderbanger

Web: matthias-schneiderbanger.de.

Holger Ballweg

Web: uiae.de.

Patrick Borgeat

Web: cappel-nord.de.

Juan A. Romero

Web: rukano.de.